Education Advocacy

Parent_09

Adoptive, foster, and guardianship families may encounter educational challenges as they raise their children, even if those children do not have special educational needs.

Families who wish to access educational advocacy support services can do so through the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services. To obtain information or assistance regarding this program, please contact the Regional Educational Advisor’s Office serving the region where your child attends school.

Cook County North (Chicago)

Advisor: Deseree Edwards
(312) 328-2477
deseree.edwards@idcfs.state.il.us

Assistant Advisor: Donnis Briscoe
(312) 328-2673
dbriscoe@idcfs.state.il.us

Cook County Central (Chicago)

Advisor: Dawn Overend
(773) 292-7732
doverend@idcfs.state.il.us

Assistant Advisor: Carlos Alverio
(773) 292-7731
calverio@idcfs.state.il.us

Cook County South (Chicago)

Advisor: Diane Fitzhugh
(773) 371-6029
dfitzhug@idcfs.state.il.us

Assistant Advisor: Arlecia Brown
(773) 371-6143
abrown@idcfs.state.il.us

Cook County North (Suburbs)

Advisor: Yasmina Sefiane
(847) 745-3008
yasminajohnson@idcfs.state.il.us

Cook County Central (Suburbs)

Advisor: Yasmina Sefiane
(708) 338-6637
yasminajohnson@idcfs.state.il.us

Cook County South (Suburbs)

Advisor: Rebecca Lawrence
(708) 210-3051
rlawrenc@idcfs.state.il.us

Assistant Advisor: Jessica Ellenwood
(708) 210-2817
jellenwood@idcfs.state.il.us

Northern Region (Collar Counties)

Advisor: Mitch Kremer
(815) 338-1068
mkremer@idcfs.state.il.us

Assistant Advisor: Lauretta Thrist
(815) 967-3832
lthrist@idcfs.state.il.us

Northern Region (Rockford Sub-Region)

Advisor: Rhonda Best
(815) 967-3750
rhondabest@idcfs.state.il.us

Assistant Advisor: Lauretta Thrist
(815) 967-3832
lthrist@idcfs.il.us

Central Region (Champaign Sub-Region)

Advisor: Vernessa Gipson
(217) 355-5990
vgipson@idcfs.state.il.us

Assistant Advisor: Regina Parnell
(217) 355-5990

Southern Region (East St. Louis Sub-Region)

Advisor: Bessie Peabody
(618) 583-2125
bpeabody@idcfs.state.il.us

Assistant Advisor: Lynette Daniels
(618) 583-2121
LDaniel2@idcfs.state.il.us

Southern Region (Marion Sub-Region)

Advisor: Kendra Homoya
(618) 993-7134
khomoya@idcfs.state.il.us

If you are unsure of which regional office you should contact, or if you have additional questions regarding educational advocacy in Illinois, please contact us today.